Primary School

To be inspired and be inspiring


The National Curriculum and Assessment Arrangements - Information for Parents and Carers

The National Curriculum is taught at Key Stage 1 (Years 1 & 2) and at Key Stage 2 (Years 3, 4, 5, & 6). The National Curriculum subjects are English, Mathematics, Computing, Science, History, Geography, Music, Art, Physical Education, Design Technology, Personal Social Health Education (PSHE) and Religious Education.

Please click on a subject below for more information.


We have also included the assessment strands for Reading, Writing and Maths to show age-related expectations for your child and the Whole School Curriculum Map at the foot of this page that shows an overview of what your children will be studying this year and why. 



In Reception your child will be taught the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.  This prepares your child to begin the National Curriculum in Year 1.  The EYFS Practice Guidance, states:


‘There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.’


The Foundation Curriculum covers seven learning areas. Three Prime areas:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical Development

Communication and Language


Specific areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

Please visit individual year pages in the teaching and learning section for termly curriculum summaries. Alternatively click here.

Assessment Strands by Year Group


Please click on the relevant Year group below to see assessment strands for Reading, Writing and Maths. These targets are the age-related expectations taken from the updated National Curriculum.